Behavior OnLine Forums  
The gathering place for Mental Health and
Applied Behavior Science Professionals.

Become a charter member of Behavior OnLine.

Go Back   Behavior OnLine Forums > >

Notices

Old January 6th, 2005, 11:59 PM

Question How ethical is my therapist?

I am a SW student who sees a therapist. I was wondering how ethical some things that she is doing. Lately she has been canceling my appointments with her. Sometimes it was the night before the session when her office called me to cancel, sometimes it was 20 minutes before the session when I got a phone call stating that my session was cancelled. About 3 times I went to her house (that's where she sees her therapy clients) just to be told by her personal assistant on the steps of the house that my session was cancelled. It's humiliating, first that she cancells my appointments a lot, second that she does it right before the session and third, to come all the way to her house just to be turned away. The reason is always the same - she is sick, she is not feeling well. When I pass by her house about an hour later - her car is gone, so she is well enough to go out but not well enough to see me. I never talked to her about this. I am going to be a therapist one day, so can you tell me is that ok to do things like that to your clients?
Thanks,
SWstudent
Old January 10th, 2005, 01:13 AM

Default Re: How ethical is my therapist?

Yanno, we wouldnt really know enough to comment on how ethical your therapist is. However, if I were in your shoes I would be quite hurt about the behavior. I would also realize that there might be legitimate reasons for the behavior - a sick family member is one reason springing to mind.

Why dont you talk to her about it? You can decide how to handle it depending on her answer....

Da Friendly Puter Tech
Old January 10th, 2005, 11:16 AM