Behavior OnLine Forums

Behavior OnLine Forums (https://www.behavioronline.net/)
-   EMDR (https://www.behavioronline.net/emdr/)
-   -   Long Term Stats (https://www.behavioronline.net/emdr/773-term-stats/)

Eden06 March 31st, 2006 12:03 PM

Long Term Stats

Hi,

I have been a therapy client for a number of years, and EMDR has been used throughout those years, at different parts of my therapy. It certainly works, but not in the "regular" ways that I have read about. Without becoming too candid, my youth was spent in a number of abusive situations, as well as mirroring my youth to a great extent, in my early adulthood.

I am wondering if there are any stats around, now that EMDR has been used for a number of years, about its use over a long period of time ( I am not suggesting the use has been constant, but rather as part of my therapy) - I know, from my reading (I should tell you I am a psychotherapy student), that it was originally thought of as a one time quick thing, but this belief has changed with its use, and the types of clients it has been done with.

Are there any stats around from therapists who have used EMDR with their clients over a long period of time? Will it still work as well? What information is there?

I look forward to any and all answers.

Thanks, Eden

Sandra Paulsen March 31st, 2006 02:45 PM

Re: Long Term Stats

This is a great question. I currently know of no studies of its use adjunctively with psychotherapy over a long period of time. Most of the studies are on its use with PTSD.

Here's my understanding of what happens, based on clinical experience, not research.