Behavior OnLine Forums

Behavior OnLine Forums (https://www.behavioronline.net/)
-   Ericksonian Therapy (https://www.behavioronline.net/ericksonian-therapy/)
-   -   Ericksonian techniques with severe psychiatric conditions? (https://www.behavioronline.net/ericksonian-therapy/3819-ericksonian-techniques-severe-psychiatric-conditions/)

emdrhypno January 15th, 2011 07:31 PM

Ericksonian techniques with severe psychiatric conditions?

Hi Steven-
I've completed all three levels of training at the Erickson Foundation and read/viewed/listened to just about everything I could find out there by/about Erickson, and have found myself working with a population with whom I am not sure when or how it's appropriate to apply my tools with.
I work as a therapist in a healing community for folks recovering from lots of severe conditions, from schizophrenia to bipolar/schizoaffective to one resident with DID. I know that dissociative disorders respond well to hypnotic language, and am receiving consultation around that. The consultant has pointed out, and I have found it to be the case, that this woman (with DID) is already exhibiting an incredibly high degree of hypnotic ability, and hence doesn't require a formal induction of any sort. I wonder if you have any specific suggestions around how to work with a client with this diagnosis? I am ordering Kluft's book, as well as a few others, but would love some input from you.
What I am more uncertain about, though, is the advisability of using hypnotic language with people who have thought disorders such as schizophrenia.